Department of Computer Science

Welcome to UWC Computer Science

You have reached the Computer Science department of the University of the Western Cape, situated in the beautiful city of Cape Town, Republic of South Africa. Surrounded by oceans, mountains and winelands, UWC Computer Science offers students the opportunity to further their education in one of the most beautiful settings on earth. We strive to produce top quality well rounded Computer Scientists as explained in our Mission And Vision.





The annual ACM ICPC SA Regional competition will be taking place next Saturday, the 21st October at UCT. Please contact Toufeeq at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. for more information.

Upcoming Tech Talks

Date: 19 th October 2017, Thursday
Time: 13h10
Venue: SC 9
Guest Speaker: Ms Michell Cluver
Abstract: An 8K Digital Dome for Scientific Visualisation

In May 2017, the Iziko Planetarium relaunched as the Iziko Digital Dome and Planetarium with
an 8K projection system providing a high definition, 64 MegaPixel visualisation platform. As part
of this upgrade, a separate research cluster consisting of 12 Supermicro computers, each with
an NVidia P6000 GPU is available for scientific visualisation by the research partners (of which
UWC is one). This talk will focus on the current capabilities of the system and discuss ways that
interdisciplinary research can make the most of the resources within the Western Cape to
further our data visualisation expertise.

Date: 26 th October 2017, Thursday
Time: 13h10
Venue: SC 9
Guest Speaker: Mr Peter van Heusden
Abstract: TBA



Centre of Excellence (CoE) for IP and Internet Computing

Our Department hosts the CoE for IP and Internet Computing, which is funded by Telkom SA, Cisco Systems SA, Aria Technologies Africa and The Technology and Human Resources of Industry ProgrammeSome of these remedies are able while some are simply a waste of period to depict perfect outcomes that can Sizegenetics it. Many could be regarded an average penile enhancement therapy in the event that you were to categorize these enhancement methods. The reason being inadequate study hasbeen done on penile enhancement, meaning claims-made nowadays are unreliable or partial. Some study hasbeen performed about safety or the usefulness of particular remedies to verify claims-made by businesses who create applications or penile enhancement items. The majority of this information relies from academic study and impartial medical tests. Usually search for information that's in a position to confirm it is authenticity while examining an item you discover attractive. This can be a sign of the fraud if you fail to discover these details! Why Must Penile Enhancement Be Effective and Safe? Since it is sensible. No body desires even the additional or one, they'd choose equally nice as this Bathmate review. This difference is what classifies "organic" dimension improvement from the common, over exposed penis-enlargement therapy. (THRIP). The CoE funds the research projects within the Department, namely BANG and SASL groups.

Bringing affordable communications to rural South Africa


SATNAC 2015 "Africa – The Future Communications Galaxy"

The annual Southern Africa Telecommunication Networks and Applications Conference (SATNAC) is the continent's leading ICT conference and draws some 400 delegates every year. This prestigious event is hosted under the auspices of Telkom and is the only conference of its kind that puts students, academics and government representatives under the same roof as specialists and leaders from the industry.

During the three day conference, a number of plenary sessions and presentations will focus on the theme: "Africa – The Future Communications Galaxy" with speakers and panelists representing telecommunication operators and vendors from local and international organisations.

SATNAC has proven to be an excellent networking platform for the ICT industry and prides itself on being an ideal forum for postgraduate students to highlight successes achieved on their research.

This year's SATNAC will be held from 6 to 9 September 2015 at the Arabella Hotel & Spa in the heart of the Kogelberg Biosphere Reserve near Hermanus, Western Cape, South Africa.

SATNAC 2015 participants



AMCIS 2015 "Blue Ocean Research"

The 21st Americas Conference on Information Systems (AMCIS) was held at El Conquestador on the outskirts of Fajardo in Puerto Rico, from 12 – 15 August 2015. “Blue Ocean Research” was the theme of the conference—a preeminent research conference in the information systems discipline conducted under the auspices of Association of Information Systems (AIS). Each year, AMCIS attracts close to a thousand attendees (this year it was 965) principally from North America but this year, 48 countries were presented. All papers submitted to AMCIS were subjected to a rigorous blind peer-review process (AMCIS is ranked as an A conference, see

The conference program included research paper presentations, research panels, keynotes, CIO (Information Technology Director) panels, doctoral consortiums, posters sessions and interestingly “Open Placement”.  Open Placement is a forum where Universities can interview prospective academic personnel.  Each day of the conference Open Placement sessions were held from 8h00 to 17h00.

For more info, click here.



News Headlines